image: Menu header
scholarships 2007


The White House Correspondents' Association supports several scholarships aimed at encouraging a new generation of reporters. It is for this that we host the annual White House Correspondents' Association dinner, which draws luminaries from politics, business, media, Hollywood and elsewhere to help the White House press corps raise money to give crucial financial assistance to journalism students at several institutions across the country.

2007 Scholarship Awards

Three $5,000 scholarships for undergraduate students pursuing degrees in journalism at the John H. Johnson School of Communications at Howard University in Washington, D.C. This award program is administered by Howard in a new arrangement between the school and the WHCA that began in 2007.

Rachel L. Huggins, Oakland, California

One of the most-published students in Howard's journalism program, Rachel received the Department of Journalism Chairman's Award in 2006 for her excellent work. She says she wants her reporting to emphasize "ordinary people doing extraordinary things." She a print journalism major, with a minor in political science.

Natalie R. Wilson, Athens, Georgia

Natalie was on the air on local broadcasts well before her scholarship award. She describes reporting as "observing a blurry object under a microscope and then reaching to turn the focus knob until it appears clearly under the lens." She is a broadcast journalism major and English minor.

Ashley S. Southall, Chamblee, Georgia

Ashley wants to be a role model in her community by reaching "the ranks of an owner and a provider" and says the scholarship will help her achieve her goal of buying a home. She is majoring in broadcast journalism, with a minor in business administration.

The Frank Cormier Scholarship

A $24,000 tuition awarded over four years of undergraduate study in journalism at the Phillip Merrill College of Journalism at the University of Maryland. This scholarship was established in 1991. In 1994, it was named in honor of Frank Cormier, legendary White House correspondent for The Associated Press.

Douglas Jackson-Quzack
2006-2009 scholar, now a junior at Maryland

Daniel Lyght
2002-2005 scholar, now a sports staff writer at the Fresno Bee

The Deborah Orin-Eilbeck Scholarship

Two $5,000 scholarships for graduate students at Northwestern University's Medill School of Journalism. First funded in 2007 through an anonymous donor, the awards honor the memory of the late Deborah Orin-Eilbeck, the tenacious White House correspondent for The New York Post and Medill graduate who died of cancer in 2006. 

Ki Mae Heussner, B.A. in English from Dartmouth College
Ki Mae was an intern in Washington for Sen. Christopher J. Dodd, D-Conn., and worked for non-profit organizations.

Tiffany Sharples, B.A. in Spanish and English from Colgate UniversityTiffany spent six months after graduation working at The Santiago Times in Santiago, Chile, and as an English teacher at the city's English First Institute.

Scholarship in Graduate Journalism Studies of Underserved Populations

A $5,000 scholarship awarded to a graduate journalism school student with an interest in reporting on the concerns of underserved populations. The grant is first being awarded in 2008, thanks to an endowment from an anonymous donor.

2007 Tribute to the Editors of The Collegiate Times, Virginia Tech

A one-time $5,000 grant to the school newspaper at Virginia Tech in Blacksburg, Va. The tragic shooting deaths on the university's campus occurred just days before the WHCA's annual dinner in 2007. Both national news organizations and the public relied heavily on the newspaper's quick and thorough coverage of the tragedy. Editor-in-Chief Amie Steele was our guest at the dinner to accept the check on behalf of her fellow students and staff.


For information about past winners, please visit the SCHOLARSHIP ARCHIVE page.


The President and Mrs. Bush, Steve Scully, and the 2007 WHCA scholarship recipients.

Amie Steele

Campus newspaper Editor-in-Chief Amie Steele was our guest at the 2007 dinner; she accepted the WHCA grant on behalf of her fellow students and the staff at Virginia Tech.

Bush with scholarship winners
The 2007 scholarship winners above, with President Bush, and below, on stage, accepting their awards.

Scholarship winners

Watch WHCA dinner videos dating back to 1993 on C-SPAN.ORG. Footage includes award presentations, scholarships, historical retrospectives, political humor,and some great "people watching" at the annual dinner.


Our 2007 SLIDESHOW features members, guests, award winners, scholarship recipients, the President and Mrs. Bush, and a few familiar faces. Flash player and a javascript-enabled browser required.

For a list of WHCA scholarship recipients since 1991, visit the SCHOLARSHIP ARCHIVE page, which also features links to videos of past dinners and scholarship presentations.



Copyright © 2007 White House Correspondents' Association

contact the whca news and blogs scholarships awards dinner news membership info history of the whca officers and board of directors home page